Old Camberwell Grammarians' Association

Gallery of Achievement


Dr Ian James Hopkins OAM (1951)

Ian graduated from the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Melbourne in 1957, and was awarded the Michael Ryan Medal in Surgery, and the Margaret Ryan Medal in Medicine at St Vincent’s Hospital. In 1962 he was awarded the Syme Medal for the top student in the Doctorate of Medicine course.

In 1963 he commenced his study overseas in paediatric neurology, returning to Melbourne in 1966 with joint appointments at the University of Melbourne and the Royal Children’s Hospital. His main clinical interest has been childhood epilepsy and its treatment.

Ian has written and co-written more than 50 medical papers on topics relating to child neurology, he has held positions including Director of Neurology at the Royal Children’s Hospital, Associate Professor of Paediatric Neurology at the University of Melbourne, Chairman of the Australian College of Paediatrics Scientific Programme Committee and Foundation Executive Member of the International Child Neurology Association.

Upon retirement in 2002, he was honoured by his colleagues at the Royal Children’s Hospital by the naming of the annual Hopkins Symposium in Child Neurology, and the Hopkins Klug Neuroscience Library and Seminar Room.

(1946 - 2019)